Maple, Vanilla Cheesecake

photo-79

It was the weekend, so in celebration of the fact I decided to make a cheesecake. We love cheesecake in our house it’s true, in fact my hubby even wrote a song about it(true story)!

I had some Borders Biscuits Butterscotch Crunch(baked in the lovely Scottish Borders hence the name) in the pantry so this was my starting point. The pain of having to crush these beauties(they are probably my favourite biscuit) was only do-able because I was pretty sure it was going to bake my crust a-MAY-zing! Without being all trumpet blowing etc, it WAS amazing!

Here’s what I used:

photo-69photo-71

Crust:

1 x (150g) packet Butterscotch Crunch

100g pecans

75g butter(I used normal butter not the spreadable kind I put in the photo! My bad. Use regular butter, though to be fair I am not sure it would have make a big difference if I had used spreadable)

photo-70 photo-72

photo-73 photo-74

Here’s what I did:

  • Put the pecans on a baking tray and toast in the oven for about 8 mins at 180c.  Really do this, it’s totally worth it from a taste point of view!
  • While the nuts are baking,  whizz up the biscuits in my food processor, you could do it the trad way with a plastic bag and a rolling pin, if you are feeling all angsty and stuff. Just do what you need to do! Remember though you don’t want it all to be too small, some bigger pieces in the dust is a good thing. Texture is your not the enemy here!
  • Tip the crumbs into a bowl, then blitz the nuts the same way.
  • Melt the butter and add to the pecan/ biscuit crumbs. Mix.
  • Put the buttery crumbs into your pan(a springform one is best, I use a 8″ round one) which you have lined with parchment, or at the very least given a good buttering/oiling. Press into the base and up the sides of the tin by about 2-3 cms. Put into the fridge to set.

Filling:

3/4 can of condensed milk

300g Philadelphia cheese

1 egg

Vanilla extract

Maple syrup

photo-75 photo-76

Here’s what I did:

  • Whip up the cream cheese until fluffy. Slowly pour in the condensed milk, mixing as you go. Once completely combined, add the maple syrup and vanilla. Beat again. Add the egg and beat until just combined, you don’t need to whip the heck out of it here!
  • Pour in the crust ad place in the oven(set at 180c/350f/ gas ) for 25 mins after which check for  the jiggle. We want a soft wibbly middle but not a full on wobble! Once you’re happy, turn off the heat leaving the cheesecake inside but open the door a crack. After an hour take the cake out and put on a cooling rack to continue cooling.
  • Once cooled(at least 3 hours, it’s worth it honestly!) slice. The best way to do this is with a warmed knife, wiping the blade between each cut.

 photo-81 photo-80

I urge you to go and make this right now! It’s not only REALLY tasty but quick, and pretty much no fail- what more could you wan’t? 🙂

photo-83

Leave a Reply

